portfolio-cover

On my reflection on last year I found it to be an enticing experience that has opened me up to much more things than I had anticipated. Honestly, I didn’t really know what to expect when I first entered the course, I had never heard of ‘Digital Humanities’ and was quite skeptical about the information technology aspect of the course because it’s a topic so far removed from what I was used to and familiar with coming straight out of my leaving certificate.

As we can obviously see I made it through the first year of extreme learning curves. This course has opened me up to so much more digital tools that I would’ve never even heard of if it wasn’t for my lectures, Mike and Donna, last year. Some of my favorite topics that we covered were the following:

  • WordPress:

By being introduced to WordPress it enabled me to create my own blog and write about whatever I had an interest in. I enjoy looking back on older post now and seeing how hesitant I was and seeing how much my mind has expanded and opinion now differ.

  • The Dark Knight:

Before the release of the Dark Knight block buster the Warner Bros. collaborated with 42 entertainment for an unforgettable international trans-media campaign. They set up a real-life scavenger hunt which had the public and the media buzzing. This trans-media project would be deemed very successful seeing as this interactive form of advertisement left a phenomenal 1.005 billion USD in the box office.

  • The Quipu Project:

This is an interactive media project. It allows illiterate women and men of Peru to finally speak up and have a voice about their uncontested sterilization which took place in the 1990’s. The interactive aspect of this project is that you can call these victims through their website and listen to their stories.

  • XMind:

This is a digital tool which enables you to mind map your ideas. A mind map is a graphical way to represent ideas and concepts. It is a visual thinking tool that helps structuring information, helping you to better analyze, comprehend, recall and generate new ideas. Just as in every great idea, its power lies in its simplicity.

  • Voyant-Tools.org:

Voyant Tools is a web-based reading and analysis environment for digital texts. You enter two url’s and this digital tool analyses them, finds their common factors and highlights the most important words in the text. This comes in very handy for me, personally, because I am a visual leaner.

If I had any information or advice to pass onto first year students it would be that the course work is very interesting and it opens you up to new things which you would never go out of your way to discover but you MUST keep on top of it because it builds up really quickly and you don’t want to be cramming everything into the night before. Now if people ask me what is digital humanities I would tell them that it’s how we, as people, interact with technology and how it is growing day by day to become more involved in our everyday lifes.

Leave a Reply

